Leave a comment

Yet another update.

Another anthology update.

I have finally slogged through the monstrous pile of May submissions and made it to the ones received in June, so I guess you could say that I’m in the home stretch. To date, I have read ~240 stories, and accepted a grand total of 32 for the 2 volumes so far (21 for Volume 1 which were announced last month, and 11 so far for Volume 2).

In the past two days, I sent out over 50 rejections and surprisingly only 2 acceptances. There are close to 90 submissions left with 6-10 spots remaining in Volume 2 (depending on the word count).

The quality of the stories have, for the most part, been much better than expected, making the decision process that increasingly difficult.

Generally, the reasons for the stories’ rejections fall into six main buckets: 1) Story didn’t match the theme or genre, 2) Not even close to the word count guidelines 3) Beginning didn’t hook me, 4) Ending too abrupt or nebulous, 5) Too close to a story I already had chosen, or 6) Monster barely showed up at all or didn’t even make an appearance.

Ultimately, I break ties by making sure there is a lot of variety in the types of monsters, and whether I remember it a few days later.

I can’t wait until you read them. We have some special stories here.

Leave a Reply

DARK DOCUMENTARIES » Free, full-length documentaries on crime, murder, conspiracies, serial killers, the occult, and more

Free, full-length documentaries on crime, murder, conspiracies, serial killers, the occult, and more

Realms of Night

An Online Gallery of Horror and Dark Fantasy Cover Art

Sci-Fi & Scary

Reviewing Independent & Traditionally Published Works

Joseph D'Lacey

My pen is my compass. I appear to have lost my pen.

ERASERHEAD PRESS

INDEPENDENT PUBLISHER OF BIZARRO FICTION SINCE 1999

The Books of Blood

Horror Book Reviews

