1 Comment

Grab Me by the Throat

What do you do when you first pick up a new book? Do you admire the cover? Do you smell the glorious scent of the print?  Perhaps you read the synopsis on the back or scan the blurbs from other authors? Or maybe you’re one of those depraved individuals who turns to the last page and reads it before even starting the story.

Ugh…even thinking of such heinous sacrilege churns the acid in my gut.

I do the opposite. My routine with a fresh read, no matter the author – from Stephen King to the local newspaper columnist – is to read the first line. I read it, then I close the book and let it marinate for a few seconds. If the first sentence didn’t touch a nerve, most of the time I’ll put the book down and move on to the next choice. Occasionally I”ll stick with an established author for a page or two, but if I can’t be interested by that point, it’s not worth it to me.

There are too many other options out there to read for me to waste on books that can’t immediately immerse me in their world.

At the time I write this post, there have already been close to 150 submissions in 3 weeks for our anthology – muych more than I could have expected. Considering the fact that I can only keep between 20-30 of them for inclusion, I have to be quite picky.

So, if you do intend to submit something, please be sure to grab me by the throat and cut off my oxygen.

Make me breathless.

One comment on “Grab Me by the Throat

  1. Working on a submission…will meet the deadline. Sounds like a great anthology.

    Like

Leave a Reply

DARK DOCUMENTARIES » Free, full-length documentaries on crime, murder, conspiracies, serial killers, the occult, and more

Free, full-length documentaries on crime, murder, conspiracies, serial killers, the occult, and more

Realms of Night

An Online Gallery of Horror and Dark Fantasy Cover Art

Sci-Fi & Scary

Indie-Focused Reviews, News, and More

Joseph D'Lacey

My pen is my compass. I appear to have lost my pen.

ERASERHEAD PRESS

INDEPENDENT PUBLISHER OF BIZARRO FICTION SINCE 1999

The Books of Blood

Horror Book Reviews

